Lisa Murkowski for US Senate Releases Part 2 of the Alaska Natives for Lisa Coalition

Leaders cite Lisa’s effectiveness in bringing historic infrastructure investments to rural Alaska

In expanding their support for Alaska’s senior Senator, Alaska Native leaders from across the state noted Lisa Murkowski’s important work in writing the bipartisan infrastructure law that brings historic investments to rural Alaskan communities and projects.  

From broadband to water and wastewater projects; community resilience; ports and harbors, Alaska will receive significant funds to enhance existing projects and build out new infrastructure. So far, major projects have included $116 million for high-speed internet access, $45.7 million for an oil spill response facility, countless wastewater projects, airport funds, and subsistence harbor investments.

In authoring and negotiating the passage of the bipartisan infrastructure law, Senator Murkowski worked hard to include provisions to invest in rural Alaskan infrastructure. Her seniority on the U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee has allowed her to deliver even more significant investments to rural Alaskan communities, including $41.5 million for Tribal broadband deployment and high-speed internet. 

Senator Murkowski has received endorsements from dozens of Alaska Native leaders. 

Yesterday, the campaign released the first round of Alaska Native leaders’ endorsements. Several Alaska Native Corporations have also endorsed Senator Murkowski’s re-election. 

Alaska Native Leaders Who Endorsed Lisa Murkowski for U.S. Senate: 
Aaron Schutt of Tok, Athabascan 
Anna Sattler of Kwethluk, Yup’ik 
Bart Garber of Tyonek, Athabascan
Brooke Woods of Rampart, Athabascan 
Chief Herbie Demit of Tanacross, Athabascan 
Charisse Millett of Anchorage, Iñupiaq
Debbie Mekiana of Anaktuvuk Pass, Iñupiaq
Senator Donny Olson of Golovin, Iñupiaq
Dorothy Shockley of Manley Hot Springs, Athabascan 
Elsie Boudreau of Anchorage, Yup’ik
Ethan Schutt of Tok, Athabascan 
Evelyn Beeter of Chistochina, Ahtna 
Fmr. Senator Georgianna Lincoln of Rampart, Athabascan 
Genevieve John of Mentasta Lake, Ahtna
George Smith of Scammon Bay, Yup’ik
Georgianna Lincoln of Rampart/Anchorage, Athabascan 
Greg Razo of Anchorage, Yup’ik
Hugh Short of Bethel, Iñupiaq
Ian Erlich of Kotzebue, Iñupiaq
Irene Dundas of Ketchikan, Tlingit 
Jason Evans of Nome, Iñupiaq
Jenifer Samuelson of King Cove, Aleut 
Jody Potts-Joseph of Eagle, Han Gwich’in
Josh Peter of Fairbanks, Athabascan
Joel Jackson of Kake, Tlingit 
John Lincoln of Kotzebue, Iñupiaq
Johnetta Horner of Kobuk, Iñupiaq
Kally Greene of Kotzebue, Iñupiaq
Kim Jorgenson of Kotzebue, Iñupiaq
Laurie Thomas of Fort Yukon, Gwich’in
Linda Lee of Shungnak, Iñupiaq
Liz Qaulluq Cravalho of Kotzebue, Iñupiaq
Liz Saagulik Hensley of Kotzebue/Anchorage, Iñupiaq
Lizzie Reich Davis of Kotzebue/Kenai, Iñupiaq
Senator Lyman Hoffman of Bethel, Yup’ik
Mary Aparezuk of Kotlik, Yup’ik
Megan Onders of Nome, Iñupiaq
Meghan Siġvanna Tapqaq of Nome, Iñupiaq
Michael Williams of Akiak, Yup’ik
Miles Cleveland, Sr. of Ambler, Iñupiaq
Millie Hawley of Kivalina, Iñupiaq
Nancy Barnes of Juneau, Tsimshian/Alutiiq
Orie Williams of Nenana, Athabascan 
Shauna Hegna of Port Lions, Alutiiq
Sheri Buretta of Tatitlek, Alutiiq
Skoey Vergen of Akutan/Sand Point, Aleut 
Teisha Simmons of Galena/Fairbanks, Athabascan
Wily Splain of Fairbanks, Iñupiaq